SILVER;

IMG_1940 IMG_1942 IMG_1948

……..

After a good 4 months of being a brunette (/blonde as well, my damaged Asian hair does not retain colour well after 4 bleach jobs), I recently decided to undertake yet another bleach job and now my hair is officially grey/silver/greyish silver. Technically speaking, my dream hair colour would be platinum blonde + silver + pastel blue/purple, but I am way too afraid of hair breakage to attempt anything now.

Hair breakage is so real guys. As you can see from the above picture, I got my hair ends trimmed as well. And only at the salon did I realise that the hair on the left side of my head have broken off quite a fair bit in the mid portions. Not to mention the amount of hair fall after every hair wash.. scary stuff. Do I regret going silver though?

Absolutely not.

Just a few words of caution if you’re thinking of taking the plunge:

  • Know Your Hair – Whether it is damaged or not, you know it. And if it is, try to lay off the bleaching till your hair is healthier.
  • Be Practical – Following up on the above point; not saying it’s impossible to go from black to silver in one sitting, but it’s NEARLY impossible to go from black to silver, and not induce severe damage to your hair to the point of no return.
  • Be Committed – I take really good care of my hair. Even more so than my face. Weird, I know. Invest in hair serums, hair oils, a good shampoo and conditioner. I am talking about everyday routine of shampoo + condition + treatment + leave-in hair oils. You really need to replenish all the moisture that was stripped from your hair, else you’ll just end up with straws for hair.
  • NEVER attempt to bleach your hair on your own – Unless you’re a hair stylist or the likes. I have coloured my hair on my own, but bleaching is a whole new ball game. If you don’t wish to chemically burn your scalp, please leave bleaching to the professionals.
SILVER;

Leave a Reply

